Music is what feelings sound like

In my life I look for inspiration in everything I do.  I try to derive inspiration from all my different experiences I have, from the people I meet, to the books I read, the movies I watch, even in the food I eat.  But nowhere can more inspiration and meaningful messages be found than in the music we listen to.   Music is so influential in everything we do.  It affects the way we speak, it reflects the mood we can find ourselves in, it influences the clothes we wear, the food we eat, the people we hang around with, and it has even been known to spark revolutions.  Music has a way of transcending our barriers that we construct to keep the world out and allows us to connect with one another through shared experiences and emotions set to the beat of drums, violins, electronic pulses, or electric guitar chords.  It has been so influential in my life that in celebration of that fact I have decided that this week I will do a daily countdown of my top 5 favorite bands that have influenced and assisted me through the living of my life.

There have been so many musicians and bands that have contributed to my love of life, ability to embrace sorrow, that have helped me express the joy I have found in love and loved ones, and helped me get pleasure from almost every emotion I have ever experienced, it would be unfair to not mention the runners up.  So in order to pay homage to most of the important bands out there I will list 20 thru 6 here, and then each day list one of my favorite bands starting with number 5 today, and finish on Friday with the number one band….OF ALL TIME!  Or at least my favorite band of all time.  Of course like all lists this will somehow still be and incomplete selection of bands and singers that are near and dear to me.   There will of curse be omissions and in some cases complete snubs of bands that deserve to be on this list.  These are bands that have been influential in my life and helped me convey the feelings that I have had.  This is my list, but feel free to comment and list some of your own.

20.  Smashing Pumpkins

smashing pumpkins

19. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

mozart

18.  Lupe Fiasco

lupe fiasco

17.  Jay Z

jay z

16.  Kanye West

kanye west

15. Nirvana

nirvana

14. Tiesto

DJ Tiesto

13. Pearl Jam

pearl jam

12. Red Hot Chili Peppers

Red hot Chili Peppers

11. Michael Jackson

michael jackson

10. The Offspring

the offspring

9.  Blink 182

Blink 182

8. PM Dawn

pm dawn

7. TuPac Shakur

TuPac Shakur

6. Bob Marley

Bob Marley

Click here to see Number 5

Click here to see number 4

Click here to see number 3

Click here to see number 2

Click here  to see number 1

About thedailyheard

Just a guy with an opinion and some time on my hands trying to find out where the sidewalk really does end.

Leave a Reply

